Sex Offender Alerts

Sheriff Mincks is committed to inform the citizens of Washington County where Sex Offenders are living in the county. The options below will assist you in your search for Sex Offenders who live in your neighborhood.

If you have any questions or comments about a Sex Offender living in your area, please contact Detective Patrice Tornes by clicking here.

WASHINGTON COUNTY SEX OFFENDER LISTINGS
REGISTER FOR ALERTS
SEARCH FOR OFFENDERS
SAFETY TIPS


Sex Offender Classifications and Definitions

Beginning January 1, 2008 Ohio implemented a new classification system for offenders convicted on sexual-related offenses.

Upon sentencing, a judge decides based on a number of factors, at which level the offender will immediately be classified. When the offender is released from confinement, moves to a new county of residence or begins a job or school, the offender must register with the sheriff within three days.

In addition to their residential, school and/or employment and personal identifying information, each sex offender who is legally required to register must provide the Sheriff’s Office with:

  • the license plate number of all vehicles to which they have access, including work vehicles, and where said vehicles are habitually parked 
  • email addresses and internet identifiers, e.g. screen names, etc.
  • registered phone numbers (home & cellular)
  • Classifications

Regardless of an offender’s age, any sexual offense subjects the offender to register as a sexually oriented offender. Crimes that are not explicitly sexual in nature but have a sexual motivation are also included in the sex offender registration statute, Section 2950.01 of the Ohio Revised Code.

TIER III OFFENDER

Offenders in this tier must register every ninety (90) days and must do so for life. Violators convicted of the following offenses of the Ohio Revised Code must register at this tier:

  • Rape
  • Sexual Battery
  • Agg. Murder with sexual motivation
  • Murder with sexual motivation
  • Unlawful death with sexual motivation
  • Kidnapping of a minor to engage in sexual activity
  • Gross sexual imposition, child under 12
  • Kidnapping of a minor
  • Felonious assault with sexual motivation
  • Sexual offense committed by Tier 2 or Tier 3 offender
  • Attempt, complicity or conspiracy of any of these offenses

TIER II OFFENDER

Tier 2 offenders are required to register every six months and must do so for twenty-five (25) years. Tier 2 offenders are those convicted of any of the following:

  • Compelling prostitution
  • Pandering obscenity involving a minor
  • Pandering sexually oriented material involving a minor
  • Illegal use of a minor in nudity oriented material or performance
  • Unlawful sexual conduct with a minor – offender 4 years older than victim
  • Gross sexual imposition – victim under 13
  • Child endangering
  • Kidnapping with sexual motivation
  • Kidnapping victim over 18
  • Abduction with sexual motivation
  • Sexual offense committed by Tier 1 offender
  • Attempt, complicity or conspiracy of any of these offenses

TIER I OFFENDER

An offender in Tier 1 must register every year and must do so for fifteen years. Offenders convicted of these offenses are categorized as Tier 1:

  • importuning
  • Unlawful sexual conduct with a minor – offender less than 4 years older than victim
  • Voyeurism
  • Sexual imposition
  • Gross sexual imposition
  • Child enticement with sexual motivation
  • Pandering obscenity
  • Menacing by stalking with sexual motivation
  • Unlawful restraint with sexual motivation
  • Child victim offender not in Tier 2 or 3
  • Attempt, complicity or conspiracy of any of these offenses

Megan’s Law

Megan’s Law, which addresses sex offenders and child molesters was signed by President Clinton on May 17, 1996.

Megan’s Law was much needed, despite Washington State’s 1990 Community Protection

 

 Act which included America’s first law authorizing public notification when dangerous sex offenders are released into the community. It was the brutal 1994 rape and murder of seven-year-old Megan Kanka by a previously Registered Sex Offender that prompted the public demand for broad-based community notification.

megan
Megan Kanka

Megan’s Law requires the following two components:
Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification.

About Sex Offender Registration

The 1994 Jacob Wetterling Act requires the States to register sex offenders registered of sex crimes against children. Sex offender registration laws are necessary because:

  • Sex offenders pose a high risk of re-offending after release from custody
  • Protecting the public from sex offenders is a primary governmental interest
  • The privacy interests of person convicted of sex offenses are less important than the government’s interest in public safety
  • Release of certain information about sex offenders to public agencies and the general public will assist in protecting the public safety

Megan’s Law & Sex Offender Community Notification

Megan’s Law allows the States discretion to establish criteria for disclosure, but compels them to make private and personal information on registered sex offenders available to the public.

Community notification:

  • Assist law enforcement in investigations
  • Establishes legal grounds to hold known sex offenders
  • Deters sex offenders from committing new sex offenses
  • Offers citizens information they can use to protect children from Registered Sex Offenders, child molesters and victimization

This information was obtained by www.meganslaw.net