Special News 10 Mar 2023

On 10 Mar 2023 Agents with the Southeast Major Crimes Task Force conducted a traffic stop resulting in the arrest of Kenneth Walker, Columbus, Ohio.

While patrolling the 800 block of Second Street, Pioneer Township, Agents observed a vehicle with an obstructed view of the registration (taped in window) due to dark tinted windows.  This location was located near the St. Mary’s Catholic School, Marietta, OH. 

A traffic stop was conducted and Agents met with the driver, Kenneth Walker.   Agents requested the requisite information from Walker.  Walker advised that he stopped too far over the stop bar, in the intersection, because he was not from the area and the vehicle did not belong to him.  A strong odor of marijuana was emitting from the vehicle.  Walker was asked in reference the odor and stated he had some loose marijuana in a pouch in his door.  Walker stepped from the vehicle and spoke with Agents at that time. 

Walker was asked if anything else would be located on his person, which he denied.  A pat down of Walker’s person revealed a large bulge near the waistband of his underwear. The bulge was above the belt line and above the waistband of his pants, which were well below his underwear.

Walker admitted that the item was heroin.  The plastic baggies were removed and found to be a plastic baggie that contained three other individually wrapped substances in their respective baggies.  The two bags of fentanyl were found to weigh 10.35 grams with baggie, and the one bag of meth weighing 15.46 grams.

Kenneth Walker, age 49, 2050 Guildhall Drive, Apt. A, Columbus, OH, was placed under arrest and transported to the Washington County Jail.  Walker was charged with aggravated trafficking of methamphetamine in the vicinity of a school zone, a 1st degree felony, and aggravated trafficking of fentanyl in the vicinity of a school zone, a 1st degree felony.

Walker will remain in the Washington County Jail until his appearance on 13 Mar 2023 in Marietta Municipal Court.

The Southeast Major Crimes Task Force is part of Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost’s Organized Crime Investigation Commission and is comprised of representatives of the Washington, Morgan, Noble, Monroe, Meigs, and Athens County Sheriff’s Offices; the Marietta, Belpre, Middleport, McConnelsville, Nelsonville, and Glouster Police Departments; the Washington, Morgan, Noble, Monroe, Meigs, and Athens County Prosecutor’s Offices; and the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation.