Special News 8 Apr 2022

On 7 Apr 2022 Agents with the Major Crimes Task Force conducted a search warrant in Pioneer Township arresting two individuals for trafficking in drugs and another on outstanding warrants.

Agents conducted the search at 710 Front Street, Apt. 10, Marietta, OH.  A vehicle was observed leaving the parking area and a traffic stop was conducted by the Marietta Police Department for a traffic violation. 

Agents proceeded to the stop and met with the driver identified as Wayne Wheeler.  Wheeler exited the vehicle and inquiry was made as to anything illegal in the vehicle.  Wheeler stated that there was fentanyl, methamphetamine, and marijuana in the vehicle.  Wheeler was detained in a police cruiser at that time. 

A search of the vehicle revealed 3.52 grams of fentanyl and 1.43 grams of methamphetamine.  Agents also located digital scales, 1×1 baggies, drug paraphernalia, and $627.00 of U.S. currency in small denominations (indicative to drug trafficking) inside the vehicle.

Agents entering the residence where Thurman Perdue and Taylor Obrien were located.  A search of the residence revealed 16.63 grams of methamphetamine and 1.66 grams of fentanyl, a digital scale, and various items of drug paraphernalia.

Wayne Robert Wheeler, age 60, 14460 Round Road, Ava, OH, was charged with trafficking in fentanyl, a felony of the 4th degree and trafficking in methamphetamine, a felony of the 4th degree.   

Thurman William Perdue, age 47, 710 Front Street, Apt. 10, Marietta, OH, charged with trafficking drugs, a felony of the 2nd degree, and trafficking in drugs, a felony of the 4th degree.

Taylor Nichole Obrien, age 24, 710 Front Street, Apt. 10, Marietta, OH, was arrested on a warrant for aggravated possession of drugs, a felony of the 5th degree, and possession of drugs, a felony of the 5th degree.

All subjects were transported to the Washington County jail for processing and appearance in Marietta Municipal Court on 8 Apr 2022.

Obrien and Wheeler are being held without bond while Perdue has a bond of $7500.00.

The Washington, Morgan, Noble, Monroe, and Meigs Major Crimes Task Force is part of Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost’s Organized Crime Investigation Commission and is comprised of representatives of Washington, Monroe, Morgan, Noble and Meigs County Sheriff’s Offices; the Marietta, Belpre, Middleport and McConnelsville Police Departments; and the Washington, Morgan, Noble and Meigs County Prosecutor’s Office, and the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation.