Major Crimes Task Force Arrest 2 for Methamphetamine Sale

An investigation by Agents of the Ohio Organized Crimes Investigations Commission, Washington Morgan Noble Major Crimes Task Force resulted in trafficking in methamphetamine arrests.

On 5 Jan 18 Agents with the Major Crimes Task Force met with David E. Morris, age 48 and Robert D. Hutchison, age 21,  on Pike Street, Marietta, Washington County, OH.

Morris and Hutchinson sold suspected methamphetamine, a schedule II substance.  Agents with the Major Crimes Task Force attempted to stop the 2000 Pontiac Grand Prix, driven by Morris and occupied by Hutchinson, which led to a pursuit.  During the pursuit Morris failed to obey the traffic light located at the intersection of the Wal-Mart parking lot, State Route 7 and Country Club Drive.  Traffic was heavy at the time, creating a substantial risk of physical harm to other motorists.  Morris finally stopped his vehicle after being cut off by Agents a short distance later while traveling northbound on SR-7 near the intersection of County House Lane.

A presumptive field test of the methamphetamine was conducted with positive indication for Methamphetamine.

David Eugene Morris, age 48, 34708 Conner Ridge Road, Woodsfield, and Robert David Hutchison, age 21, 206 East Spruce Avenue, Byesville, OH, were arrested for trafficking in methamphetamine in an amount more than bulk but less than 5 times bulk, a 3rd degree felony.  Morris was also charged with failure to comply with order or signal of police officer, 4th degree felony.

The Washington County Sheriff’s Office and Marietta Police Department road patrol assisted in the pursuit and stop of Morris.

Both Morris and Hutchinson appeared in Marietta Municipal Court on 8 Jan 18.  Morris is now being held on a $25,000 bond and Hutchison is being held on a $15,000 bond.

The Washington Morgan Noble Major Crimes Task Force is part of Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine’s Organized Crime Investigation Commission and is comprised of representatives of Post 84 of the Ohio State Highway Patrol; Washington, Morgan and Noble County Sheriff’s Offices; the Marietta, Belpre and McConnelsville Police Departments; and the Washington, Morgan and Noble County Prosecutor’s Office.